in

Harry Maguire explains Michy Batshuayi VAR incident in Chelsea’s loss to Manchester United

Manchester United captain Harry Maguire has opened up on the incident with Chelsea’s Michy Batshuayi during the Blues’ 2-0 defeat at Stamford Bridge.

Maguire admitted making contact with the Chelsea man but insisted that he did not intentionally hurt Batshuayi, with the incident taking place near the Blues’ bench as staff were up in arms on the sidelines.

Anthony Martial had already given United a 1-0 lead in the first half before those red card claims were waved away.

Insult was added to injury for Chelsea, who saw Maguire head home his side’s second of the game after the break.

Video Loading

Video Unavailable

Click to play
Tap to play

The video will start in8Cancel

Play now

The England international has since attempted to clear the air after the coming together, which was looked at by VAR before the 26-year-old escaped punishment.

“I knew I caught him. My natural reaction was to put my leg to catch him,” Maguire told Sky Sports. “It wasn’t a kick out. It was just my natural reaction to straighten my leg.

“If he was to fall on me, I would then catch up. I knew I’d caught him. There was no intent to hurt him. It wasn’t intentional.

“I apologised to him and it was nice that the referee saw since.”

Chelsea had efforts by Kurt Zouma and Olivier Giroud also disallowed by VAR in the second period.

Comments

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Loading…

0

Comments

0 comments