The 7 worst players to win the Champions League final in the past decade

The Champions League final isn’t always won by the most talented team in Europe in any given season, but that doesn’t always mean every single player in the winning squad is one of the greats.

Some of those to lift the trophy, while still a few rungs above Sunday League standard, are not what you’d call Champions League level – at least not on the level where you’d expect them to win the whole thing.

We’ve picked out seven of the best (well, worst) here, while making an executive decision to leave out reserve goalkeepers.

It’s not that the likes of Oier, Ross Turnbull and Tom Starke aren’t underwhelming names, but we just didn’t want the list to be goalkeeper-heavy.

So, without further ado, here are our lucky seven…

Read More
Related Articles
Read More
Related Articles
McDonald Mariga

There’s a Champions League winners’ medal in the Wanyama household
(Image: Getty Images)

Victor Wanyama’s brother became the first Kenyan to earn a Champions League winner’s medal when he was an unused sub for Jose Mourinho’s Inter in 2010.

The midfielder played three times in the knockout stages that year, each time as a substitute, and was on the pitch as Barcelona’s late semi-final goal was disallowed by referee Frank de Bleeckere.

Mariga played a couple more Champions League games under Rafa Benitez the following season, but never added to that tally beyond 2010 and retired in 2018 aged 31.

Jose Bosingwa

Bosingwa with the Champions League trophy… yep, that was a thing
(Image: PA)

When Bosingwa won his first Champions League title with Porto in 2004, he was still a young prospect with plenty of time to see if he’d justify his potential.

When he made it two, playing the full 120 minutes for Chelsea against Bayern, he’d shown us exactly how high his ceiling was.

The Portugal international only started the game due to a number of Blues players missing out through injury and suspension, and his performances the following year at QPR gave…