8 worst players to win the Premier League including Man Utd and Arsenal misfits

Very few footballers can say they have won the Premier League.

Ryan Giggs (13) and Paul Scholes (11) managed to hit double figures during the glory years at Manchester United but most players will go through their entire careers without winning it.

Liverpool are now poised to become just the seventh team to finish top since its inception in 1992.

But who are the worst players to ever win it? Premier League rules dictate that players have to play a certain number of games to receive a medal, but we’ve scrapped that.

Anyone who featured in a Premier League-winning squad is eligible, except for back-up goalkeepers.

Read More
Related Articles
Read More
Related Articles
Ronnie Wallwork (Manchester United 2000/01)

Worst players to win the Premier League – Ronnie Wallwork

From Premier League winner to jail, Wallwork suffered the ultimate fall from grace.

Wallwork was even given a lifetime ban from football for attacking a referee, though it was later reduced.

He was sentenced to 15 months in prison in 2011 after admitting to three counts of handling stolen cars.

Wallwork was a bit part player for United in truth and enjoyed far more first team exposure when he joined West Bromwich Albion, albeit at a lower level.

Igors Stepanovs (Arsenal (2001/02)

Worst players to win the Premier League – Igors Stepanovs

Stepanovs, according to former team-mate Ray Parlour, actually only signed for Arsenal after a joke being played on Martin Keown went too far.

In a bid to wind up Keown, Parlour and a few of his team-mates praised Stepanovs throughout a trial game – despite the fact they didn’t think he was very good.

After hearing praise from players held in such high esteem at Arsenal, Arsene Wenger signed the Latvian as cover for Tony Adams.

“No disrespect to anyone from the lower leagues but Igors was a yard behind us on the pitch,” said Parlour. “It was like taking my brother to training.”

Oleh Luzhny (Arsenal 2001/02)

Worst players to win the…


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *