We had a feeling today’s game between Chelsea and Manchester United would be a tight one, and that it might come down to some fine margins.
In the end it wasn’t that fine at all, it was obvious. Harry Maguire fouled Cesar Azpilicueta in the box, but neither the ref nor VAR intervened.
Azpi was interviewed by Sky after the game, and explained that he had thought a spot kick should have been given.
He’s actually very calm about the whole thing, saying that he just thinks the referee should have gone to the sideline to at the very least consider the foul on the monitor.
You can see the Chelsea captain speaking in the clip embedded here:
"I felt both of his arms around my neck"
César Azpilicueta believes he should have had a penalty against Manchester United – and questioned why the VAR monitor was not used! pic.twitter.com/Z0Q3iNgNyO
— Sky Sports Premier League (@SkySportsPL) October 24, 2020