The Best FIFA awards Player of the Year nominees announced ahead of annual ceremony

FIFA have released their full list of nominees for The Best FIFA Football Awards 2020.

The awards ceremony was only introduced in 2016, with FIFA chiefs keen to revive their FIFA World Player of the Year gala.

Cristiano Ronaldo claimed the first prize, before retaining it in 2017.

Ronaldo’s former Real Madrid team-mate Luka Modric picked up the award in 2018, before his arch-rival Lionel Messi came out on top in 2019.

And ahead of this year’s ceremony on 17 December, FIFA have announced their full list of candidates for the seven individual trophies on offer – with public voting open until 9 December at 11:59pm on

FIFA have released their list of nominees for The Best FIFA Football Awards 2020, with Lionel Messi the current holder of the men’s prize
(Image: GETTY)

Read More
Related Articles

Read More
Related Articles

The Best FIFA Women’s Player:

Lucy Bronze (England / Olympique Lyonnais / Manchester City WFC)

Delphine Cascarino (France / Olympique Lyonnais)

Caroline Graham Hansen (Norway / FC Barcelona)

Pernille Harder (Denmark / VfL Wolfsburg / Chelsea FC Women)

Jennifer Hermoso (Spain / FC Barcelona)

Ji So-yun (Korea Republic / Chelsea FC Women)

Sam Kerr (Australia / Chelsea FC Women)

Saki Kumagai (Japan / Olympique Lyonnais)

Dzsenifer Marozsán (Germany / Olympique Lyonnais)

Vivianne Miedema (Netherlands / Arsenal WFC)

Wendie Renard (France / Olympique Lyonnais)

Manchester City Women’s star Lucy Bronze is in the running for The Best FIFA Women’s Player award
(Image: Getty Images)

The Best FIFA Men’s Player:

Thiago Alcântara (Spain / FC Bayern München / Liverpool FC)

Cristiano Ronaldo (Portugal / Juventus FC)

Kevin De Bruyne (Belgium / Manchester City FC)

Robert Lewandowski (Poland / FC Bayern München)

Sadio Mané (Senegal / Liverpool FC)

Kylian Mbappé (France / Paris Saint-Germain)

Lionel Messi (Argentina / FC Barcelona)

Neymar (Brazil / Paris Saint-Germain)

Sergio Ramos (Spain / Real Madrid CF)


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *